

Ss Philip & James Parish Church Hounslow Road Whitton Twickenham TW2 7DY

Registered Charity No. 1144696

Minutes of the Annual Parochial Church Meeting

Held on Sunday 17th March 2024 in the Parish Hall

Mark Croucher, Churchwarden and Chair, opened the APCM at 11.15am, following on from the Easter Vestry Meeting.

There were 29 people present at the APCM, the names are listed in Annex 1.

1. Apologies from those who pre-notified the Hon Secretary are as follows:

Anna Beutler, Peter Hesling, LLM Sue Hodder-Hesling, Ruth Jackman, Jackie Kibble, Christine Lee, LLM Peter Lee, Harriet Muir, Mr Chris Raymond, Olive Rush, Barbara Spratley.

2. Matters Arising & Approval of Minutes of the APCM of Sunday 3rd April 2022

The Minutes were accepted with no amendments, proposed by Lucy James and seconded by Madeleine Swann. All in favour.

3. Reports

a) Electoral Roll Officer's Report and Approval of the Electoral Roll

Anne-Marie reported that there were 176 members last year and since then four have died. With two new members there are 174 members on the Electoral Roll at the time of the 2024 APCM. Mark Croucher thanked Anne-Marie Philp for her work on the Electoral Roll and GDPR more widely.

b) Presentation of examined Trustees Annual Report and Accounts 2023

Mark Croucher invited attendees to raise any questions they may have on the TAR & Accounts. NO questions were raised.

Mark Croucher thanked Jan Furze and the finance team for all they do in looking after the finances of the church and producing the accounts.

c) Group Reports 2023 – for information

Mark Croucher advised that this is not a document officially required at an APCM, but it is a good way of seeing all the good that happened in the parish. He thanked all who had contributed to the content and production of the report.

Question asked by DM – Under prayers and worship in the report, do we know if home visits and home communion is being offered during the vacancy?

Lucy James advised that LLM Sue Hodder-Hesling has indicated that she is arranging home visits for any person brought to her attention.

Angela Bowman reported that elements of all the group reports had been included in the Parish Profile and added a wow factor.

Russell Nimmo added that, since the writing of the Bishop Perrin School report, an Ofsted inspection has taken place at the school and it has been rated as outstanding.

4. Elections and Appointments

a) Elections to the PCC

March Croucher announced that up to 12 lay members are allowed on the PCC. It was agreed by the PCC that all existing members should put themselves up for reelection at his year's APCM. Seven nomination forms have been received.

Those lay members who have been proposed for election or re-election onto the SsPJ PCC, from the date of this meeting, are:

Gavin Cowling Colin Downey Jan Furze Lucy James Mark Johnson Chris Penson Mr Chris Raymond

The above names had already been Proposed and Seconded by those who signed each individual's nomination form. All attendees voted in favour and therefore all were adopted as PCC Members for this year.

Ex-officio members of the PCC are:

Angela Bowman	- Churchwarden
Mark Croucher	- Churchwarden
Rosemary Hodi	- Deanery Synod representative – 2023-2026
Anne-Marie Philp	- Deanery Synod representative – 2023-2026
Sue Hodder-Hesling	- Licensed Lay Reader
Peter Lee	- Licensed Lay Reader

Church Ministry team, and therefore on the PCC are: The Revd Vernon Fray (as observer only as not licensed to the parish)

Those no longer standing as of 17th March 2024 APCM: Ian Clabon Jane Lewis

b) Elections to the Deanery Synod for the Deanery of Hampton

Mark Croucher explained that the Deanery Synod members are elected every 3 years for the 3 possible places. Anne-Marie Philp and Rosemary Hodi were elected at last year's APCM and will continue in their roles, nobody has stepped forward to fill the final vacancy.

c) Appointment of the Independent Examiner

Jan asked the meeting to agree that the Independent Examiners Ltd, (Unit 2 Broadbridge Business Centre, Delling Lane, Bosham, West Sussex PO18 8NF) should remain as auditors for a further year. This was therefore proposed by Jan Furze and seconded by Hugh Saville, with all in favour.

d) Appointment of Sidespersons for 2024/2025

Mark explained that the role of Sidesmen is no longer an item on the agenda as it is under the jurisdiction of the Wardens and PCC in the Parish. He informed the meeting that the appointment of sidespeople would therefore be dealt with at the next PCC meeting.

5. Any Other Business

5.1 The Hon PCC Secretary, on behalf of the parish, extended a heartfelt thank you to Angela Bowman and Mark Croucher for all they have done, and will continue to do, in their Churchwarden roles. Recognition was made of the extensive amount of additional work and responsibility during the vacancy. All joined in thanking and applauding Mark and Angela for all they do.

Mark Croucher extended the thanks to Fr Vernon for his ongoing resilience and support during the vacancy. All shared in this thanks.

6. The Meeting closed at 11.45am with prayers by Fr Vernon.

Lucy James PCC Hon Secretary 17.03.2024

Annex 1 - List of those present at the meeting (x29)

Ministers (x1) The Reverend Vernon Fray Electoral Roll members (x33) Angela Bowman Mandy Clarke Mike Clarke Gavin Cowling Mark Croucher (Chair) Colin Downey Marije Edwards John Evans Mary Evans Vernon Fray Jan Furze Tim Furze Sally Goodhew Anne Gray Carol Hodge Rosemary Hodi Lucy James Debby Johnson Mark Johnson Karen Mackay Deborah McIntyre Russell Nimmo Chris Penson Philomena Penson Anne-Marie Philp **Christine Raymond** Mary Robinson lan Swann Madeleine Swann